Subclass & Locking-In FAQ

DattoDoesDestiny goes over how subclasses, the lock in (amplify) mechanic, and the fabled ‘third subclass’ slot works.

“Destiny will launch with two focuses per class for a total of six, but you’ll have to play through your Guardian’s progression to unlock them all.”

It’s assumed that the third slot is where your locked subclass will go.

“Destiny allows you to freely swap your ability choices, but according to Green there comes a point when you can lock them in. This gives your Guardian benefits, such as a stat boost. At this point you get a copy of the same focus, but that copy levels up much faster, thus allowing experimentation.”

When you “lock-in” you’ll have a copy of the Focus/subclass you just locked, reset back to its base, with an experience boost attached. This is done to continue to allow experimentation with a focus without needing to have to make a new character.

You still keep your old locked in subclass and can switch to it whenever you want. You can still change your play-style quickly if you want to.


Check out if you’d like to talk to others about Destiny in a friendly and welcoming community! :)


  • Seth Allister Hansen

    This makes sense with how they have been talking about doing future versions of the game. if subclasses are only available in each version, the next game might have different subclasses. at GDC14 they talked about developing Destiny in such a way that you could pick up a new game, play for a while and then go backwards (into previous games) with your new character and get the story/stuff from the other games. This equipable subclass seems to be one of those things.

  • Niels-Peter Lund

    Still don’t understand how it works… Have not seen the video,( yet!) Maybe i’m just stupid, but right now it seens either ‘booring’ or I just don’t understand it… It will proberbly make sense when playing at higher levels…

  • Nater-ater

    I thought it would be that there would be a subclass of each damage type (solar, arc, void) for each class for a total of nine.

    • Joshua Tobin

      if you look on the destiny companion app where you see the subclasses it shows 2 out of 3 subclasses. I think but i highly doubt that the third subclass will be obtained when you “Slay the dragon” achievement.