Exotic Gauntlet Review

Published on: Jan 13, 2015 @ 18:22

Now that we’ve reviewed each of Destiny’s Exotic helmets (Titan/Hunter/Warlock), we’re going to review each of the Exotic gauntlets.

Until the House of Wolves is released, there’s 2 Exotic gauntlets for each class, and this article will analyze each of them.

Titan

No Backup Plans (Defender)no backup plans exotic

  • Strength
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Rain Blows – Increases melee attack speed.
  • Improved Disintegrate – Increases the duration of Force Barrier.

Review

Everyone knows Titan’s like to punch things, and the quicker you can do that, the better. These perks are useful in PvE as well as PvP. If you’re a Defender, and don’t have any Defender-specific Exotics (such as Helm of Saint-14), then pick these up.

With No Backup Plans, your melee strikes can fortify you with a Force Barrier, giving you extra durability in combat. Depending on the talents you choose in your skill tree, you can have a regenerating FB, more reload speed or more Orbs of Light generated per use.

With Rain Blows you are going to have an increased melee attack so when you run into multiple enemies, these gauntlets can help you make quick work of them.

Because they’ll give you Strength, you’ll get a boost to durability, as the increased chances to trigger Force Barrier can greatly improve your staying power in combat. The obvious benefit of these is that you can stay protected for longer; it’ll increase the duration to about 20 seconds (from 15 seconds).

Special Weapon Loader reduces your reload speed by about .7 seconds.

The cosmetics for these gauntlets are very unique with their purple holographic illumination; they highlight the wearer well.

Score

PvE: 7.5/10

PvP: 7.5/10

Ruin WingsRuin Wings

  • Strength
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Impact Induction – Causing damage with a melee reduces your grenade cooldown.
  • Seeds of Ruin – Heavy ammo drops more often, and contains more ammo in each drop.

Review

Ruin Wings are the new Dark Below Titan gauntlets that are useful for either subclass. These will give an awesome advantage in PvP, but especially in PvE.

These gauntlets will get you more rockets and more bullets for your machine gun. Heavy ammo drops much more frequently and even doubles the amount you get from each crate. You will almost never have the need to burn through Heavy ammo synthesis packs since you’ll be consistently picking up ammo.

Impact Induction offers the opportunity for melee-loving titans to get even more grenades to throw; you don’t even need to get kills with the melee, just cause damage.

A perk like this is not as useful in endgame activities where you want to usually keep your distance, but it’s certainly going to be useful nevertheless

The Strength from it will reduce the cooldown of your melee ability; we all know a Titan loves to melee!

This is one of the best Titan Exotics since The Armamentarium. It gives you a huge edge since you will have an endless stream of heavy ammunition at your disposal.

Obviously in PvP enemies don’t drop heavy ammo automatically, so these would be best in PvE, though you could still benefit from the other 2 perks.

As for cosmetics, this gear doesn’t disappoint. Amazingly designed, engraved armour plates make your titan look broader and more prestigious. These gauntlets are easily identifiable and are bound to make you stand out among the crowd, with a very similar design as the Mk. 44 Stand Asides.

Score

PvE: 8.5/10

PvP: 5/10

Hunter

Young Ahamkara’s Spine (Gunslinger)young ahamkara's spine

  • Discipline
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Ashes to Asset – Replenish Super energy when you kill an enemy with a grenade.
  • Improved Tripmine Grenade – Tripmine grenades last longer when placed.

Review

Young Ahamkara’s Spine will double the time your the tripmine lasts for, just like the Sunbreakers with the Solar grenade. With Tripmines this is especially useful, lasting a total of 30 seconds, if you’ve got enough Disipline you can breifly have 2 out at once!

What is also great on these is the Ashes to Asset perk, which gives you more super energy for grenade kills. It’s always good when the perks support each other, and with enough Discipline, you’ll be able to have 2 tripmine grenades out at once for a few seconds.

The typical Special Weapon’s Loader perk will reduce the reload speed by about .7 seconds.

These gauntlets lose some credibility in PvE as Tripmine grenades are not a popular choice due to their singular targeting habits and are usually swapped out with something that provides more  area of effect damage.

These are OK gauntlets, but ultimately we recommended that you wait for an Exotic helm such as Achlyophage Symbiote.

As for looks, these are the probably the coolest gauntlets in the game. From the spooky moving spine on the arm, to the vicious and intimidating skull on the shoulder, it’s no surprise why most people use these as their Cosplay inspiration.

Score

PvE: 6.2/10

PvP: 7.5/10

Don’t Touch Medon't touch me exotic gauntlets

  • Discipline
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Inverse Shadow – Increased Super energy gained from killing minions of the Darkness.
  • Defensive Reflex – Taking damage from a melee attack makes you briefly invisible.

Review

Don’t Touch Me are PvE-focused gauntlets that are subclass neutral. While these technically aren’t a Bladedancer-only item, Bladedancer’s will benefit more from Defensive Reflex using their Shadowjack talent.

Do not underestimate the Exotic perk on the Don’t Touch Me gauntlets. It’s insanely good in certain situations, and allows you to do things you could never do before.

If you wanted to, you could solo the first part of Crota’s End without breaking a sweat! When you are struck by melee, you are granted 3 seconds of invisibility (6 seconds using Shadowjack). There is no cool down either, so the moment you are exposed, you are lined up for yet another vanishing act the next time you’re struck.

This sort of ability is absolutely priceless in PvE. It’s a great perk that will allow you to escape those sticky situations.

The other perks are fairly standard for Exotic gear: Inverse Shadow will give you a great boost for PvE when you want to get those Supers back extra quick. With increased reload speed for Snipers, Fusion’s and Shotguns, you are given another all-round great boost.

There’s no perks that benefit your grenades, but if you are lucky enough to get a pair with a high amount of Discipline, they’ll help with their cooldown.

These gauntlets are more orientated around PvE, since Guardians usually only melee when they are going in for the kill, so keep that in mind. As for Inverse Shadow, that perk won’t benefit you at all in the Crucible.

Don’t be fooled by the preview: You will be presented with a pretty boring shoulder plate, but on the right shoulder, you have a large scarab-esque mandible extruding upwards. It looks pretty cool to say the least and is noticeable.

Score

PvE: 9/10

PvP: 5.4/10

Warlock

Sunbreakers (Sunsinger)sunbreaker exotic gauntlet

  • Intellect
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Serpent’s Tail – Causing damage with a melee reduces your grenade cooldown.
  • Helium Cycle – Increases the duration of your Solar Grenade.

Review

The infamous Sunbreakers… love or hate them, if you’re a Sunsinger you should have these.

The perks these provide are fantastic if you set your talents right. Helium Cycle exactly doubles your Solar grenade’s duration. Unfortunately it doesn’t affect Dragon’s Breath solar flare.

An additional Solar grenade with Gift of the Sun is crucial if you want to take advantage of Sunbreakers‘ perks. Song of Flame and Radiant Will are also great as they will have Radiance last longer and have your grenades recharge faster.

In PvP and PvE alike, Sunbreakers give the same benefit. More control over areas and more damage output for your grenades. The Solar grenade can be useful in encounters when enemies come through predictable chokepoints, and for bosses that have multiple points that can be damaged simultaneously such as the Devil Walker.

Aesthetically, they’re amazing. The bright orange fiery plates will never go unnoticed.

Score

PvE: 7.5/10

PvP: 8/10

Claws of Ahamkaraclaws of ahamkara exotics

  • Discipline & Strength
  • Special Weapon Loader – Increases the reload speed of all Special Weapons.
  • Snap Discharge – Increases melee attack speed.
  • The Whispers – Gain an additional charge for Scorch and Energy Drain.

Review

If you have the chance to buy these, do it. The Claws of Ahamkara perks will help out in PvE and PvP, and the they also look great.

The Warlock melee is arguably the most versatile in Destiny, and having two charges that can be doled out faster than normal makes it even better. If your melee ability isn’t up, these will help you squeeze out in a close quarters fight.

The increased reload to special weapons is also handy for just about every situation, and like all of the Exotic gauntlets, it’ll reduce the reload speed by about .7 seconds.

What makes these especially awesome, is that they’re equally useful for both subclasses. I’d prefer to use these on a Sunsginer for the extra Flame Shield.

Having a perk benefit both subclasses is very rare with Exotic pieces of gear,and it’s nice because you can choose which you prefer. It maintains a perfect balance between the two, so players have complete flexibility over which class to play and won’t be left with a useless Exotic if they wish to change subclass.

Unfortunately each of the perks relies on getting up close and personal. In PvE activities, especially in the most dangerous scenarios, usually you’ll want to avoiding getting in the enemy’s face.

For people who prefer sniping or hanging back, the Claws of Ahamkara won’t  be as favorable. These will shine on small maps, and for any player who enjoys using special weapons, and likes a in-your-face playstyle.

Cosmetic wise, they cover the forearm with elegantly placed feathers and the Claw upon the shoulder is a very impressive and visually appealing.

Score

PvE: 7.3/10

PvP: 8/10

PlanetDestiny
Check out forums.planetdestiny.com if you'd like to talk to others about Destiny in a friendly and welcoming community! :)

LATEST POSTS BY AUTHOR

  • Ingulit

    Still kicking myself for not picking up Don’t Touch Me when I had the chance. I’m surprised it didn’t rate higher for PvE (I’m seriously saying 10 is justified) considering how much it enables you to do which is impossible (or annoyingly difficult) otherwise.

  • Kou Vang

    I would say you underrated the Ruin wing. It usefulness is beyond raid. For strikes, this glove help you push off minutes off per run bc u can blast heavy all day. If you can get 2 other guys with similar builds to play vanguard roc, you max out marks in about 2 hrs. I would rate it 9 out of 10 bc strength makes it less useful stats but overall more useful than most other exotic…

  • BAMozzy69 .

    I have all these Gauntlets but don’t often wear any of them as I find the Helms and chests to be more useful in general.
    Aesthetically I think Young Ahamkaras Spine is probably on of the best looking exotics in the game but as I play mainly PvE, one of my least used

    • Kou Vang

      If u r not using the ruin wing for vanguard roc strike playlist, u r missing out.

      • BAMozzy69 .

        Well as the ONLY strikes I play are the Weekly Nightfall/Heroic Strikes then I obviously am not missing out on anything.
        I do have the Ruin Wings but I rarely find it too much of a struggle to get Heavy ammo for the occasional time it comes in handy. By the time I reach a section in the Raid/Strike/Mission when I may use a Heavy, I always seem to have a full quota – even more as I wear Raid Armour that enables me to carry extra. I also have more than sufficient Heavy Ammo Synthesis IF needed. I prefer the benefits of the other Exotics like Extra Grenades or longer lasting Weapons/Blessing of Light etc.
        I don’t want to run around with a Rocket Launcher or LMG as if it was a primary either…

        • Kou Vang

          Everyone to their own i guess.

  • David King

    I used the Ruin Wings for about a week and didn’t notice any difference in the drop rate at all.

    • Kou Vang

      Then u are plain unlucky. Getting 4 jellyrocket per heavy drops makes me a happy guardian.

  • Flynn Sutton

    go to xur now then ingulit