Destiny Championship Series

Are you looking for a taste of Ranked Destiny PvP, and a chance to truly become legend?

If so, you’re in luck! FarCognitions, in association with Solid E-Sports, Planet Destiny, & Battlefy have been working tirelessly to bring you the “next gen” platform for competitive Destiny. Introducing, the Destiny Championship Series!

This article addresses the following:

  • Regional and Console Exclusive Play
  • Season Ladder/Ranked Play
  • Team Requirements
  • Schedule Balance
  • Official Rules
  • Seasonal Persistence


We’ve heard the concerns and frustrations of dealing with playing teams from the other parts of the world. Region exclusive play will allow for the best overall experience. Right now, we have leagues planned for both EU and NA on PS4.

Are you on Xbox, or in Latin America or Australia, and you want to participate? Sign up!

If enough teams join for your region and console, it will be unlocked. The amount of money allocated to each prize pool is directly associated with how many people sign up! You, the community, will decide where we will focus our PvP Legends resources.

Additionally, for each region/console, there will be 8 well-known, top-seeded teams who have been invited, and will go directly into the Finals Qualifier.


Teams will compete in pre-season qualifiers to determine which Division they’ll be placed in.

Currently, the Divisions are:

  • Ladder
  • Challenger
  • Champions

The Ladder division will not have a monetary prize pool attached, and is a place to practice and breed new talent. For the Ladder, anybody who wants can join at anytime and play as much as they want, provided they register.

We will matchmake you with other teams in the Ladder, and the more you play and win, the higher you’ll climb in the rankings! It’s divided up into five tiers, and will be tracked with leaderboards on the PvP Legends website using a combination of ELO, TruSkill, and GLICKO algorithms.

Although you have to register and search as a team of four, the performance rankings are given individually. That means you’re free to change teams once every 24 hours, or stay with the same group for the whole duration, but teams will be locked the day the season ends. This is in preparation for the Relegation Event, where the four teams that have the highest collective rankings will get to battle it out against the four lowest ranked Challenger teams to take their place.

The Challenger Division is the hot zone for up and coming teams and players that want a shot at hitting the big leagues, getting noticed, and competing for prize money. With 32 total teams, the top 16 will get to play in the Challenger Cup for a cash reward and bragging rights, and the top four teams will be offered the chance to win their way into the Champions Division.

The Champions Division is the highest ranking in the DCS. With 16 total teams, it’s where you’ll find the likes of BSK, iAM, and Primal battling it out for glory and the largest prize purse the DCS has to offer. The top eight will participate in the Championship Cup, but only one will emerge victorious.



The ladder division is a free flowing, come-and-go.  Players are able to form and try new teams of four to find the most competitive set of players for their fireteam.  Team compositions are locked for 24 hours once registered, but after that timer expires they’re free to change it up.


Every team will require at least six players on the roster. With matches scheduled every other weekend, there will be the inevitable need for a sub, and we don’t want to see teams forfeit due to lack of players, or have opposing teams sitting around waiting. Once the season begins, your team will be locked.

  • Roster changes will not be allowed until the season is over.
  • Teams will be allowed a maximum of seven players on the roster.


Our new format for the Challenger and Champions divisions will be three rounds of best of five matches scheduled every other Saturday.

Prior to the start of DCS Season 1, teams will duke it out in a series of qualifier events. The qualifiers will determine which teams are placed in either the Challenger or Champion division. All remaining teams from the qualifiers and all future teams will play in the Ladder.

  • Feb 18: 1st Qualifier
    • Signups are capped at a 256 team limit and available to anyone, in their respective region, on a first come first serve basis. The top 12 teams will be guaranteed a spot in the Qualifier Finals.
  • Feb 25: 2nd Qualifier
    • A second chance for teams who failed to advance out of the 1st Qualifier.
  • Mar 4: Qualifier Finals
    The top 12 ranked teams from each Qualifier will battle versus each other and the eight invitational teams to fill out the 16 spots in the Champions Division, and the top 16 spots in the Challenger Division.
  • Mar 5: Ranking Release Day
    • The 16 highest ranked teams remaining from the combined 1st and 2nd qualifiers will fill out the bottom 16 teams of the Challenger Division.
  • Mar 11: Season 1 Week 1
  • Mar 25: Season 1 Week 2
  • Apr 8: Season 1 Week 3
  • Apr 22: Season 1 Week 4
  • May 6: Season 1 Week 5
  • May 20: Relegation Event  (Ladder -> Challenger)
    • The top four ladder teams with the highest combined scores will play the bottom four teams from Challenger.
    • Winners move into Challenger for Season 2, losers are relegated back to Ladder.
  • June 3: Season 1 FINALS!
  • June 10: Relegation Event (Challenger -> Champion)


Due to the restrictions Bungie has placed on events and prize monies, you will directly influence how the prize pool is diversified among the different regions and consoles. The percentage of registered teams for each region/console will directly correlate with the percentage of the prize money that will be awarded.

Promote your home and your console to buff that potential prize!


Click here to read FarCognitions’ official rules.

Questions? Join

Author of Massive Breakdowns, Crucible enthusiast, recovering re-roll addict.